Skip to content
Fenn

All posts

AI Visibility Tool Pricing Compared (October 2026)

By Fenn6 min readAEOToolsBudget

As of October 2026, AI visibility tracking costs from $0 to several hundred dollars a month at entry level. Free: Google Search Console and Bing Webmaster Tools for your own site's AI data, and AthenaHQ's free tier. Under $100: Keyword.com (from $9.80), Otterly ($29 for 15 prompts), Fenn ($29), AgencyAnalytics' AI Tracker ($25 per 250 credits) and Peec ($95 for 50 prompts) or Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit ($99 per domain billed annually). $100 to $300: SE Ranking ($129 with 100 prompts), Ahrefs Brand Radar (from $199), Scrunch ($250) and AthenaHQ ($295). Profound's brand plans are custom. The real cost depends on prompts, assistants and refresh frequency, so compare those, not the headline.

AI Visibility Tool Pricing Compared

Every price below was read on the vendor's own pricing page or help center on 4 October 2026, in US dollars before tax unless noted. Treat them as 'as of October 2026': this category reprices often, and several vendors show different figures on different pages of their own site, which we note where we found it.

The four things you are actually paying for

  • Prompts: how many questions are tracked. The entry plans below include between 15 and 125.
  • Assistants: which engines each prompt is asked. Many entry plans include three or four and charge extra for Claude, Gemini or AI Mode.
  • Refresh: daily, weekly or on demand. Daily costs more and shows volatility; weekly is enough for a trend.
  • Seats, brands and domains: how many people, brands or sites the plan covers.

Entry prices side by side (as of October 2026)

ToolEntry planMonthlyBilled annuallyPromptsAssistants at entryRefresh
Keyword.comAI Visibility, 20 credits$9.80$7.83 a monthCredit-basedAI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Copilot (Claude costs more credits)Daily, weekly or monthly
Otterly.AILite$29$25 a month15ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, CopilotDaily
FennStarter, 1 website$29Not listedYour question setChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, GrokWhen you start a check
AgencyAnalytics AI Tracker250 credits, plus core plan$25$20.83 a monthCredit-basedChatGPT, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Claude, Perplexity, GeminiWeekly
Peec AIStarter$95$80 a month50Choose 3 of 6 modelsDaily
Semrush AI Visibility ToolkitBase, per domainNot listed separately$99 a month25ChatGPT, Google AI, Gemini, PerplexityDaily prompt tracking
SE RankingCore (full SEO suite)$129$103.20 a month100AI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini, PerplexityDaily
Ahrefs Brand RadarBrand Radar AIFrom $199Not shownIndex plus custom promptsAI Overviews, AI Mode, ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, CopilotIndex monthly; custom daily to monthly
ScrunchCore$250Not shown125ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AIO, CopilotNot stated
AthenaHQStarter$295$245 a month3,600 credits (1 per response)11 models incl. Claude and GrokNot stated
ProfoundEnterpriseCustomCustomTailoredUp to 9 enginesDaily

Fenn's plans are $29 a month for one website, $79 for up to 3 and $199 for up to 25, set up after a demo with no self-serve signup yet. Its checks run when you start them, each stopping at a spending cap you set, rather than on a daily schedule, and it does not track Google AI Overviews.

Cost per tracked prompt at entry

Headline prices hide very different allowances. Dividing each fixed-prompt entry plan by its prompt count, and then by the number of assistants each prompt is asked, gives a fairer unit. All five plans below refresh daily; monthly list prices except where only an annual price is shown.

PlanPricePromptsAssistants per promptPer prompt a monthPer prompt per assistant
SE Ranking Core$1291005$1.29About $0.26
Otterly.AI Lite$29154$1.93About $0.48
Scrunch Core$2501254$2.00$0.50
Peec AI Starter$95503$1.90About $0.63
Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit$99 (annual billing)254$3.96$0.99

SE Ranking's figure includes a full SEO suite, so it is cheapest per prompt only if you would use the rest of it. Credit-based tools (Keyword.com, AgencyAnalytics, AthenaHQ) and tools without a fixed prompt count (Ahrefs Brand Radar, Profound, Fenn) do not fit this unit and are left out of the table.

What costs extra

ToolExtra costPrice
Otterly.AIAI Mode or Gemini; Claude; more prompts$9 and $29 a month on Lite; +100 prompts $99 a month (not on Lite)
Peec AIAn extra model$30 a month on Starter, billed annually
Semrush50 more prompts; another domain$60 a month; $99 a month
SE RankingAI Search add-on (200, 450 or 1,000)$89, $179 or $345 a month ($71.20 to $276 annually)
AhrefsCustom prompt packs; Claude$50 to $250 a month; Claude uses 8 checks per update
Keyword.comClaude3 credits per prompt per update, against 0.25 for most engines
AthenaHQExtra credits, APIContact sales

Two inconsistencies to confirm with the vendor: SE Ranking's pricing page labels its add-on tiers as prompts while its help center calls them checks (one prompt on one platform), and Ahrefs' Brand Radar page showed prices in pounds to some visitors while its pricing page shows dollars.

Free and first-party options

Before paying, use what is free. Google Search Console's generative AI report, available to all verified sites since 31 August 2026, counts impressions of your URLs in AI Overviews and AI Mode. Bing Webmaster Tools' AI Performance report, in public preview, counts citations of your pages in Copilot and Bing's AI summaries. AthenaHQ has a free Essential tier with 300 credits, Profound a free 7-day trial, and Semrush, Ahrefs and SE Ranking free one-off checkers. Our free checkers comparison covers them.

Do you need extra budget for AEO?

For measurement, not much at first. A team can start with the free first-party reports and a hand-run set of 20 buyer questions, then add a tracker in the $25 to $130 range once the manual version takes too long. The larger cost of answer engine optimization is the work the measurement points to: rewriting pages so they answer questions directly, fixing crawler access and structured data, and publishing pages for questions you do not cover. That work usually comes from existing SEO and content budgets, redirected rather than added. Our AEO budget guide shows how to lay out the line items.

How to compare prices fairly

  1. Write down your prompt count, the assistants your buyers use and the refresh you need.
  2. Price each tool for that exact configuration, including add-ons for missing assistants.
  3. Divide by prompts tracked to get a cost per prompt per month, and compare that.
  4. Check what happens at your next step up: more prompts, a second brand or a client.
  5. Confirm the price in writing where the vendor's pages disagree with each other.

FAQ

How much does an AI visibility tool cost?

As of October 2026, entry plans range from free (AthenaHQ Essential, first-party Google and Bing reports) through $9.80 (Keyword.com), $29 (Otterly, Fenn) and $95 (Peec) to $250 to $295 (Scrunch, AthenaHQ Starter), with enterprise plans quoted.

What is the cheapest AI visibility tracker?

Keyword.com's AI-only plan at $9.80 a month ($7.83 billed annually) is the lowest paid entry we found. Otterly Lite at $29 is the cheapest dedicated tracker with a fixed prompt count (15).

Which tools include Claude and Grok?

Claude: AgencyAnalytics AI Tracker, AthenaHQ Starter, Fenn, and as an add-on or extra credits at Otterly, Keyword.com and Ahrefs. Peec, Scrunch and Profound include Claude on enterprise plans. Grok: AthenaHQ Starter and Fenn at entry level; Peec and Scrunch on enterprise plans.

Is Profound worth the price?

Profound publishes no self-serve brand price; its brand plans are custom Enterprise contracts covering up to nine engines with daily tracking, after a free 7-day trial. Run the trial against your own prompt set and compare it with a cheaper tracker on the same prompts before you sign.

Put this to work on your own website.

Fenn finds what your customers ask, drafts the articles and site fixes, and measures what ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok say about you — with every change waiting for your approval.